The Connecticut chapter of the Global Organization of People of Indian Origin (GOPIO-CT) has once again made a remarkable mark at the annual Stamford Day celebration. For three consecutive years, GOPIO-CT has been a vibrant participant in this event, which honors Stamford’s rich history and diverse community.

Held on June 2nd at Mill River Park, Stamford Day 2024 was a lively, family-friendly affair organized by the Stamford Mayor’s Multicultural Council and the Mill River Park Collaborative. The event featured an array of presentations, activities, art, music, and dance, celebrating the city founded on May 16th, 1641, which has flourished into one of the most diverse cities in the nation.

GOPIO-CT’s contribution was highlighted by an impressive array of Indian dances performed by five groups, coordinated by Program Chair Yaashi Jhangiani. The Indian American community boasted the largest participation, with 40 dancers captivating the audience.

During the festivities, GOPIO-CT’s Executive Vice President Mahesh Jhangiani took the stage to share the chapter’s 18-year legacy of community service in Southern Connecticut. He highlighted their charitable efforts, including fundraising for various causes, supporting soup kitchens at Stamford’s New Covenant Center, and participating in the annual walkathon for the Bennet Cancer Center.

Stamford Mayor Caroline Simmons also addressed the crowd, expressing gratitude to all community groups for their involvement.

Mill River Park, often likened to Stamford’s Central Park, provided the perfect backdrop for the diverse cultural performances that drew a large crowd.

The current GOPIO-CT leadership includes President Dr. Jaya Daptardar, Executive Vice President Mahesh Jhangiani, Vice President Prachi Narayan, Secretary Sushanth Krishnamurthy, Associate Secretary Ashvini Persaud, and Treasurer Srinivas Akarapu. Trustees elected by the General Body include Dr. Thomas Abraham and Totty Narang, with Shelly Nichani serving as Chair alongside continuing trustees Joe Simon, Shailesh Naik, and Prasad Chintalapudi. The Executive Council will appoint up to 11 new Board Members.